The 2010 Breeders Cup is right around the corner. This annual series of Graded Stakes racing operated by Breeders Cup ltd. Formed in 1982 it has been running since 1984. From 1984 to 2006 this was a single-day event, then starting in 2007 it became a two-day event. The location for the Breeders Cup changes each year. The race has been held in the United States every year except 1996 when it was held at Woodbine Racetrack in Canada. While the Breeders Cup doesn’t have the history of some of the other famous American horse races, it does have the money. Known as the richest day in sports when it was a one-day even, now as a two-day event it has lost that moniker to the Dubai World Cup Night, which features six races with a combined purse of $21 million. In 2008, a total of $17 million was awarded on the second day of the Cup. With the fifth highest attended horse race in North America, the Breeders Cup consistently outdraws all other stakes races. Having added 3 new races in 2008 the Cup will be awarding a total of $25.5 million over the two-day event, up from $23 million in 2007. The Breeders Cp Grand National Steeplechase is not actually operated by Breeders Cup Ltd, but in reality is run by National Steeplechase Association, which uses the “Breeders Cup” name in a licensing agreement. The 14 Breeders Cup Championship races allow a maximum of 14 starters, except the Dirt Mile, Juvenile Fillies Turf and Juvenile Turf which each limit the number of starters to 12. Over the history of the even the order of the races have changed many times. Traditionally the last two races are the Turf and the Classic. The 2008 event was the first, which the entirety of Day 1 was dedicated to races for fillies and mares, with Day 2 handing all the rest of the races. Starting in 2006 ESPN took over the Breeders Cup television contract for eight years. From its inception in 1984 to 2005 it was broadcast by NBC. The voice of the Breeders Cup is Trevor Denman, he too over for Tom Durkin in 2006. Durkin had called all the races from 1984 to 2005.